Cardiology · Medical Literature

[Articles] 1-month versus 12-month dual antithrombotic therapy after percutaneous coronary intervention in patients with atrial fibrillation (OPTIMA-AF): a multicentre, open-label, hybrid non-inferiority and superiority, randomised, controlled trial

Abstract

Among patients with atrial fibrillation and predominantly chronic coronary syndrome undergoing PCI with intravascular imaging guidance, 1-month dual antithrombotic therapy followed by DOAC monotherapy was non-inferior to 12-month therapy for death or thromboembolic events and reduced major or clinically relevant non-major bleeding at 12 months, suggesting an overall favourable net clinical profile. Efficacy findings should be interpreted with appropriate caution in light of the lower-than-anticipated event rates and fixed absolute non-inferiority margin.

Clinical relevance

In patients with atrial fibrillation undergoing PCI with intravascular imaging guidance, is 1 month of dual antithrombotic therapy (DOAC plus P2Y12 inhibitor) followed by DOAC monotherapy non-inferior to 12 months of dual antithrombotic therapy for preventing death or thromboembolic events, and superior for reducing major or clinically relevant non-major bleeding at 12 months? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Multicentre, open-label, hybrid non-inferiority (primary efficacy endpoint) and superiority (primary safety endpoint), randomised controlled trial","setting":"75 hospitals in Japan; October 2019 – September 2024","sampleSize":"n=1,101 (approximately 550 per arm, 1:1 randomisation); protocol-planned target was 1,090","population":"Adults with non-valvular atrial fibrillation and coronary artery disease (predominantly chronic coronary syndrome — stable angina, silent myocardial ischaemia; acute MI excluded) undergoing PCI with everolimus-eluting stent implantation; mean age 75 years; 79% male; median CHA2DS2-VASc score 4; intravascular imaging (IVUS or OCT) guidance used in nearly all cases","intervention":"1 month of dual antithrombotic therapy (DOAC plus P2Y12 inhibitor [clopidogrel or prasugrel]) followed by DOAC monotherapy for the remainder of 12 months; aspirin permissible for ≤1 month at physician discretion","comparator":"12 months of dual antithrombotic therapy (DOAC plus P2Y12 inhibitor) followed by DOAC monotherapy","primaryOutcome":"Efficacy: composite of all-cause death, myocardial infarction, definite stent thrombosis, stroke, or systemic embolism at 365 days (non-inferiority hypothesis). Safety: ISTH major or clinically relevant non-major bleeding at 365 days (superiority hypothesis)","followUp":"12 months (with an 18-month safety follow-up visit per protocol)","fundingSource":"Investigator-initiated trial; specific funding source not reported in abstract; lead author reported speaker/research fees from Abbott Medical Japan, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Bayer, Daiichi Sankyo, and Boehringer Ingelheim"}

Key findings

Primary efficacy endpoint (composite of all-cause death, MI, definite stent thrombosis, stroke, or systemic embolism at 12 months): 5.4% in the 1-month group versus 4.5% in the 12-month group; absolute difference +0.9% (95% CI −1.7% to +3.5%), meeting the pre-specified non-inferiority margin of 5% (p=0.002 for non-inferiority). No individual component of the composite differed significantly between arms; notably, observed rates of spontaneous MI (0.4%) and definite stent thrombosis (0.2%) were very low in both groups, likely reflecting near-universal intravascular imaging guidance. Superiority for the efficacy endpoint was not demonstrated. A numerical — though not formally tested — excess in all-cause mortality was observed in the 1-month arm (4.1% vs. 3.0%; statistical significance not reported). Primary safety endpoint (ISTH major or clinically relevant non-major bleeding): 4.8% vs. 9.5%; HR 0.50 (95% CI 0.31–0.80); p=0.004 for superiority — an absolute risk reduction of 4.7% (calculated), representing a number needed to treat to prevent one bleeding event of approximately 21 (calculated). The bleeding benefit was driven predominantly by a reduction in clinically relevant non-major bleeding; no statistically significant difference in major bleeding alone was reported. Efficacy and safety results were consistent across subgroups including those stratified by CHA2DS2-VASc score. The most commonly used DOAC was edoxaban (~47%); P2Y12 inhibitors were approximately equally split between clopidogrel and prasugrel.

Practice implications

OPTIMA-AF establishes that, in carefully selected AF patients undergoing imaging-guided PCI predominantly for chronic coronary syndrome, 1-month dual antithrombotic therapy is non-inferior to 12-month dual therapy for the composite efficacy endpoint and statistically superior for bleeding reduction. The net clinical profile favours the shorter strategy. However, several important caveats apply. First, this analysis is based on the published abstract alone; the full peer-reviewed manuscript must be reviewed before definitive clinical adoption. Second, observed event rates were substantially lower than anticipated (efficacy events ~5% observed vs. a non-inferiority margin anchored to higher projected rates), which means the fixed 5% absolute non-inferiority margin was proportionally more permissive than intended — the upper confidence bound of +3.5% does not exclude a clinically meaningful increase in thromboembolic risk. Third, a numerical excess in all-cause mortality in the 1-month arm (4.1% vs. 3.0%) warrants careful scrutiny in the full publication. Fourth, almost all patients had imaging-guided PCI with an everolimus-eluting stent — findings may not generalise to centres with low intravascular imaging utilisation. Fifth, the trial enrolled an exclusively East Asian population, which carries different pharmacogenomic profiles (e.g., CYP2C19 polymorphism affecting clopidogrel metabolism), ischaemic event rates, and bleeding susceptibility compared with Western cohorts. Sixth, patients with acute MI were excluded; the shorter strategy should not be extrapolated to ACS presentations, where P2Y12 inhibition plays a more clearly established role in the early high-risk period. The findings are broadly consistent with the principle that minimising antiplatelet exposure in anticoagulated patients reduces bleeding, but confirmatory data in broader, more diverse populations are needed before universal practice change. __LIMITATIONS__ Open-label design: patients and treating clinicians were unaware of blinding; adjudication committee was blinded to treatment assignment, partially mitigating but not eliminating performance and detection bias,Lower-than-anticipated event rates: the observed composite efficacy event rate (~5%) was substantially below the assumed rate used to calculate the fixed 5% absolute non-inferiority margin, making the margin disproportionately permissive and reducing the trial's power to exclude clinically important ischaemic harm,Upper 95% CI boundary of +3.5% for the efficacy endpoint does not exclude a meaningful absolute increase in thromboembolic risk,Numerical excess in all-cause mortality in the 1-month arm (4.1% vs. 3.0%) was not formally tested and must be further evaluated in the full publication,Bleeding superiority was driven primarily by clinically relevant non-major bleeding, with no significant reduction in ISTH major bleeding — limiting the magnitude of clinical benefit for the most serious haemorrhagic outcomes,Exclusive enrolment of an East Asian (Japanese) cohort: East Asian patients have a distinct thromboembolic and bleeding risk profile ('East Asian paradox'), and results may not be generalisable to European, North American, or South Asian populations,Near-universal intravascular imaging guidance (IVUS/OCT): may have contributed to the very low stent thrombosis rate (0.2%) and limits applicability in settings where imaging-guided PCI is not routine,Acute MI and high-bleeding-risk patients were substantially underrepresented or excluded, restricting generalisability to these common real-world subgroups,Single stent platform (Xience everolimus-eluting stent): generalisability to other drug-eluting stents is uncertain,Potential for industry-related conflicts of interest given investigator ties to DOAC and device manufacturers, even in the context of an investigator-initiated trial,Abstract-only data reviewed: full statistical details, subgroup analyses, and sensitivity analyses are not yet available for critical appraisal __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ potentially_practice_informing __BOTTOM_LINE__ In AF patients with predominantly chronic coronary syndrome undergoing imaging-guided PCI, 1 month of dual antithrombotic therapy (DOAC + P2Y12 inhibitor) followed by DOAC monotherapy met the non-inferiority criterion for death or thromboembolic events and halved clinically relevant bleeding compared with 12-month dual therapy — suggesting a favourable net clinical benefit in this specific population. However, the lower-than-anticipated event rate rendered the non-inferiority margin permissive, a numerical mortality signal in the shorter arm requires clarification in the full publication, and the exclusively East Asian, imaging-guided, chronic-coronary-syndrome cohort substantially limits generalisability. This trial is potentially practice-informing for guideline refinement in carefully selected low-ischaemic-risk AF patients undergoing elective, imaging-guided PCI, but should not yet be applied to ACS presentations, non-imaging-guided procedures, or non-East-Asian populations pending confirmation.

Evidence appraisal

Evidence quality rating
5/10
Clinical applicability score
5/10