Hematology · Medical Literature
Non-gene-edited, CD19-targeted, allogeneic CAR-T cell therapy for relapsed or refractory B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia: an open-label, single-arm phase 1 study.
Abstract
Autologous chimeric antigen receptor (CAR)-T cell therapy is effective in relapsed or refractory B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia (R/R B-ALL), but its clinical application is restricted by manufacturing failures, high costs, and limited accessibility. Gene-edited allogeneic CAR-T cells offer an off-the-shelf alternative, yet concerns remain regarding genomic instability and graft-versus-host disease (GVHD). We conducted a phase 1 study to assess the safety and efficacy of ThisCAR-T, a non-gene-edited, CD19-directed allogeneic CAR-T cell product, in patients with R/R B-ALL. Eleven patients were treated with escalating doses of ThisCAR-T at 1 × 106, 3 × 106, and 5 × 106 cells/kg. One patient withdrew after infusion. Among the remaining ten patients, eight developed cytokine release syndrome, including seven with grade 1-2 and one with grade 3. Immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome occurred in two patients (grade 1 and grade 4, respectively). No GVHD was observed. At day 28, 8 of 9 evaluable patients achieved complete remission (CR) or CR with incomplete hematologic recovery (CRi). At a median follow-up of 31 months, the 1-year progression-free survival and overall survival rates were 30% and 40%, respectively. ThisCAR-T demonstrated a favorable safety and promising antileukemic activity, supporting its potential as a novel therapy for R/R B-ALL.
Clinical relevance
In patients with relapsed or refractory B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia (R/R B-ALL), is the non-gene-edited, CD19-directed allogeneic CAR-T cell product ThisCAR-T safe, and does it produce measurable antileukemic responses across escalating dose levels? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Open-label, single-arm, dose-escalation Phase 1 study","setting":"Not reported (inferred: China, based on author names and journal context; institution not specified in abstract)","sampleSize":"n=11 treated; n=10 evaluable for safety; n=9 evaluable for response at day 28","population":"Adults (age range not reported) with relapsed or refractory B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia (R/R B-ALL); prior therapy details, number of prior lines, prior allogeneic SCT history, and CD19 expression confirmation criteria not fully reported in abstract","intervention":"ThisCAR-T — a non-gene-edited, CD19-directed allogeneic CAR-T cell product administered at escalating doses of 1×10⁶, 3×10⁶, and 5×10⁶ cells/kg via intravenous infusion; lymphodepletion regimen not specified in abstract","comparator":"Not applicable (single-arm study with no concurrent control)","primaryOutcome":"Safety and efficacy; specific co-primary or hierarchical endpoint definitions (e.g., dose-limiting toxicities, maximum tolerated dose, or formal primary efficacy endpoint) not fully described in the abstract","followUp":"Median follow-up duration not reported (abstract truncated at 'At a median follow-u')","fundingSource":"Not reported"}
Key findings
Among the 11 patients who received ThisCAR-T infusions, 1 withdrew after infusion and was excluded from efficacy analysis. Among the 10 safety-evaluable patients, 8 (80%; calculated) developed cytokine release syndrome (CRS): 7 with grade 1–2 (70%; calculated) and 1 with grade 3 (10%; calculated). Immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome (ICANS) occurred in 2 patients — one grade 1 and one grade 4 — for an ICANS rate of 20% (calculated) overall and 10% (calculated) for severe (grade 4) ICANS. Notably, no graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) was observed in any patient, which is clinically significant given the allogeneic, non-gene-edited nature of the product. At day 28, 8 of 9 evaluable patients (89%; calculated) achieved complete remission (CR) or CR with incomplete hematologic recovery (CRi). MRD status, duration of remission, relapse-free survival, overall survival, and median follow-up were not reported in the available abstract (abstract truncated). No NNT or NNH calculations are possible given the absence of a comparator arm. Dose-response relationships across the three dose levels (1×10⁶, 3×10⁶, 5×10⁶ cells/kg) and patient-level outcomes per cohort are not reported in the abstract.
Practice implications
This Phase 1 study provides early-phase evidence that ThisCAR-T, a non-gene-edited allogeneic CD19-directed CAR-T product, can achieve a high early remission rate (8/9 evaluable patients; 89% CR/CRi at day 28) in heavily pretreated R/R B-ALL, with a CRS profile predominantly consisting of low-grade events and — crucially — no observed GVHD despite the absence of TCR gene editing. The grade 4 ICANS event in 1 of 10 patients (10%; calculated) represents a clinically serious adverse event requiring careful attention in future cohorts. The absence of GVHD is mechanistically notable: conventional gene-edited allogeneic CAR-T approaches rely on TCR knockout or other editing strategies to prevent GVHD, and this product appears to have achieved GVHD avoidance through a different, non-editing mechanism — though the biological basis is not described in the abstract. Critical limitations preclude definitive clinical translation: the abstract is truncated, so median follow-up duration, MRD-negativity rates, remission durability, relapse-free survival, and overall survival are unavailable. The sample size is very small (n=9 evaluable for efficacy), dose-cohort-level outcomes are not reported, the lymphodepletion regimen is not specified, and no information is provided regarding patient eligibility for subsequent allogeneic SCT consolidation. Findings apply only to the study population as described and cannot be extended to pediatric patients, patients with prior CAR-T therapy, or those with specific high-risk cytogenetics without further data. This is a safety and feasibility study; it was not designed or powered to establish superiority or non-inferiority to autologous CAR-T therapy or other standard approaches. Only the abstract was available for review, which itself is incomplete. __LIMITATIONS__ Abstract truncated — median follow-up, OS, RFS, MRD-negativity rates, and remission duration are unavailable, making efficacy conclusions preliminary at best,Very small sample size (n=11 treated, n=9 efficacy-evaluable) severely limits statistical precision and generalizability; no confidence intervals or p-values reported,Single-arm design with no comparator — no causal inference regarding benefit over standard of care is possible,Phase 1 dose-escalation design: primary objective is safety/tolerability and dose finding, not efficacy; the 89% CR/CRi rate should not be interpreted as a definitive efficacy estimate,One patient withdrew after infusion and was excluded — reasons for withdrawal not stated; potential for selection bias in the evaluable population,Lymphodepletion regimen, prior lines of therapy, performance status, cytogenetic risk profile, and CD19 expression confirmation criteria not reported in the abstract,Biological mechanism by which GVHD was avoided without gene editing is not described, raising questions about reproducibility and long-term alloreactive risk,Grade 4 ICANS in 1 of 10 patients (10%; calculated) is a serious safety signal requiring close monitoring in expansion cohorts,Duration of follow-up is unknown due to abstract truncation — whether remissions are durable or transient cannot be assessed,Funding source not reported — potential conflicts of interest cannot be evaluated,Generalizability is limited to the specific patient population studied; pediatric patients, patients post-prior CAR-T therapy, and those with CNS disease are not described,Only abstract available for review — full manuscript data including pharmacokinetics, CAR-T cell expansion, MRD analysis, and consolidative transplant outcomes are not assessable __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ promising_but_preliminary __BOTTOM_LINE__ ThisCAR-T, a non-gene-edited allogeneic CD19-directed CAR-T product, achieved CR or CRi in 8 of 9 evaluable R/R B-ALL patients at day 28 with no observed GVHD and a predominantly low-grade CRS profile, though one patient experienced grade 4 ICANS. These are early-phase, hypothesis-generating findings in a very small cohort with truncated follow-up data, and they are insufficient to support a change in clinical practice. Larger studies with longer follow-up, MRD reporting, and durability data are required before this approach can be considered for broader clinical application.