Neurology · Medical Literature
Outcomes of rehabilitation following device-aided therapy start in parkinson's disease: a randomized controlled trial.
Abstract
To determine whether adding tailored primary care rehabilitation to Device-Aided Therapy in Parkinson's disease improves outcomes more than Device-Aided Therapy alone. Open randomized controlled intervention trial. Parkinson's patients initiating Device-Aided Therapy. Participants were randomized to receive standard care either with or without 3 months of tailored primary care rehabilitation. The primary outcome was Assessment of Motor and Process Skills, while secondary outcomes included cognitive measures and overall treatment efficacy. The study was completed by 45 of 54 included patients. The primary outcome variable indicated that rehabilitation resulted in better maintenance of patient motor skills at 6 and 12 months. However, among several secondary measures, only perceived health improved more in the intervention group. Motor fluctuations improved in both groups and several other disease-specific scales demonstrated non-significant improvements. The rehabilitation group showed better cognitive performance at 12 months. Motor skills and perceived health were improved by a 3-month rehabilitation period after the start of Device-Aided Therapy for advanced Parkinson's disease. An observed positive effect of rehabilitation on cognition in the first year after the therapy requires further confirmation.
Clinical relevance
In patients with advanced Parkinson's disease initiating Device-Aided Therapy, does the addition of a 3-month tailored primary care rehabilitation program improve motor skills, cognitive function, and perceived health outcomes compared to Device-Aided Therapy alone? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Open randomized controlled trial (open-label, two-arm parallel-group intervention)","setting":"Not reported (primary care rehabilitation setting; implied Scandinavian context based on authorship and journal)","sampleSize":"n=54 enrolled; n=45 completed (intervention: not reported, control: not reported)","population":"Adults with Parkinson's disease initiating Device-Aided Therapy (DAT; encompassing deep brain stimulation, levodopa-carbidopa intestinal gel infusion, or subcutaneous apomorphine infusion — specific DAT modality distribution not reported). Advanced-stage disease implied by DAT eligibility.","intervention":"Standard care plus 3 months of tailored primary care rehabilitation initiated at the time of Device-Aided Therapy start","comparator":"Standard care alone (Device-Aided Therapy without structured rehabilitation)","primaryOutcome":"Assessment of Motor and Process Skills (AMPS) — an observational, Rasch-analyzed occupational therapy instrument measuring quality of motor and process skill performance in activities of daily living","followUp":"12 months (with assessments reported at 6 and 12 months)","fundingSource":"Not reported"}
Key findings
The primary outcome, the AMPS motor skills measure, favored the rehabilitation group, with better maintenance of patient motor skills observed at both 6 and 12 months compared to standard care alone; however, specific between-group effect sizes, absolute score differences, confidence intervals, and p-values for the primary outcome are not reported in the available abstract. Among multiple secondary outcomes, only perceived health showed a statistically greater improvement in the intervention group; all other secondary disease-specific measures (not individually enumerated in the abstract) showed non-significant improvements. Motor fluctuations improved in both groups, with no reported between-group difference for this outcome. The rehabilitation group demonstrated better cognitive performance at 12 months, though the cognitive measure used, magnitude of difference, and statistical significance are not reported. Nine of 54 enrolled patients did not complete the study (16.7% attrition, calculated), with the reasons for and distribution of dropouts between arms not reported. No adverse event data are described in the abstract.
Practice implications
This trial provides preliminary evidence that a 3-month tailored primary care rehabilitation program, initiated concurrently with Device-Aided Therapy in advanced Parkinson's disease, may better preserve functional motor skill performance (as measured by the AMPS) at 6 and 12 months, and may produce superior cognitive outcomes at 12 months compared to DAT alone. The signal on perceived health improvement in the intervention group adds a patient-relevant dimension. However, because only the abstract is available, critical methodological details — including randomization and allocation concealment procedures, intervention content, DAT modality distribution, specific statistical results with confidence intervals, handling of the 17% attrition, and whether analyses were intention-to-treat or per-protocol — cannot be evaluated. The broad failure of most secondary disease-specific outcomes to reach statistical significance raises questions about the selectivity of positive findings and potential type I error inflation across multiple comparisons. The finding that motor fluctuations improved in both groups, without apparent between-group superiority, suggests DAT itself remains the primary driver of motor fluctuation control. The generalizability of results is uncertain, as the population, setting, DAT modality mix, and rehabilitation content are incompletely characterized. The trial does not establish whether these benefits translate into long-term functional independence, reduced caregiver burden, or lower hospitalization rates. Results should not be used to mandate specific rehabilitation pathways until full publication allows critical appraisal. __LIMITATIONS__ Small sample size (n=54 enrolled, n=45 completers) substantially limits statistical power for secondary outcomes and increases risk of type I and type II errors.,Open-label design introduces performance and detection bias; blinding of outcome assessors is not confirmed in the abstract.,17% overall attrition (9/54, calculated) with dropout distribution between arms, reasons for withdrawal, and handling in analysis (ITT vs. per-protocol) not reported.,Multiple secondary outcomes tested without reported correction for multiplicity, raising concern for false-positive findings among the few that reached significance.,The specific DAT modality (DBS, LCIG, or apomorphine infusion) and its distribution between arms are not reported, introducing an important potential confounder.,Rehabilitation intervention content, dose, frequency, and provider type are not described in the abstract, limiting reproducibility.,The AMPS, while a validated functional tool, is an occupational therapy-specific measure primarily used in Scandinavian and European settings; its cross-center generalizability and minimal clinically important difference in this population are not addressed.,The cognitive outcome measure used and its clinical significance threshold are not specified.,Lack of reported absolute values, confidence intervals, and p-values for the primary outcome prevents independent assessment of effect magnitude and precision.,Funding source is not reported; potential conflicts of interest cannot be assessed.,Only abstract available at time of this summary; full-text review is required before clinical application. __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ promising_but_preliminary __BOTTOM_LINE__ A 3-month tailored primary care rehabilitation program added to Device-Aided Therapy initiation in advanced Parkinson's disease was associated with better preservation of motor skills at 6 and 12 months and improved perceived health compared to DAT alone, but most secondary outcomes did not differ significantly between groups. The small sample, open-label design, incomplete reporting of statistical detail, and abstract-only availability necessitate cautious interpretation. Full peer-reviewed publication and independent replication are required before this approach can be considered standard practice at DAT initiation.