Neurology · Medical Literature
The effects of high-intensity interval training on glucose metabolism, inflammatory responses, and functional recovery in patients with diabetic peripheral neuropathy.
Abstract
The aim of this study is to investigate, through a randomised controlled trial, the effects of high-intensity interval training (HIIT) on glucose metabolism, inflammatory responses and neurological recovery in patients with diabetic peripheral neuropathy (DPN), and to compare these effects with those of moderate-intensity continuous training (MICT), thereby providing new and more effective evidence-based guidance for the exercise rehabilitation of DPN. A total of 93 patients with DPN were randomly assigned to the HIIT, MICT, and control (CON) groups, with an intervention period of 12 weeks. Fasting plasma glucose (FPG), glycated hemoglobin (HbA1c), insulin resistance index (HOMA-IR), tumor necrosis factor-α (TNF-α), interleukin-6 (IL-6), C-reactive protein (CRP), motor nerve conduction velocity (MNCV), sensory nerve conduction velocity (SNCV) of the common peroneal nerve, Toronto Clinical Neuropathy Score (TCSS), and Berg Balance Scale. Compared with CON, both HIIT and MICT improved HbA1c, FPG, and HOMA-IR levels to some extent, reduced the expression of inflammatory factors such as TNF-α, IL-6, and CRP, and promoted the recovery of nerve conduction velocities and clinical function. Compared with MICT, HIIT demonstrated more significant and sustained advantages in terms of HbA1c, FPG, TNF-α, IL-6, and TCSS scores. HIIT and MICT can effectively improve glucose metabolism, reduce chronic inflammatory responses, and promote the recovery of nerve function in patients with DPN; however, HIIT is superior to MICT in terms of the extent of improvement, sustainability, and overall benefits.
Clinical relevance
In patients with diabetic peripheral neuropathy (DPN), does 12 weeks of high-intensity interval training (HIIT) produce superior improvements in glucose metabolism, systemic inflammation, nerve conduction velocity, and functional balance compared with moderate-intensity continuous training (MICT) and an inactive control? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Three-arm randomized controlled trial (RCT)","setting":"Not reported (country and institutional setting not specified in abstract)","sampleSize":"n = 93 (HIIT group, MICT group, and control [CON] group; per-group allocation not reported in abstract)","population":"Adults with an established diagnosis of diabetic peripheral neuropathy (DPN); additional inclusion/exclusion criteria not reported in abstract","intervention":"High-intensity interval training (HIIT) for 12 weeks; specific protocol parameters — intensity targets, session duration, frequency, and modality — not reported in abstract","comparator":"Moderate-intensity continuous training (MICT) for 12 weeks; and an inactive control (CON) group","primaryOutcome":"Not explicitly designated as primary in the abstract; measured outcomes include: fasting plasma glucose (FPG), HbA1c, HOMA-IR (insulin resistance index), TNF-α, IL-6, CRP, motor nerve conduction velocity (MNCV) and sensory nerve conduction velocity (SNCV) of the common peroneal nerve, Toronto Clinical Neuropathy Score (TCSS), and Berg Balance Scale (BBS)","followUp":"12 weeks (intervention period); post-intervention follow-up not reported","fundingSource":"Not reported"}
Key findings
Compared with the inactive control (CON), both HIIT and MICT produced improvements in glycemic indices (FPG, HbA1c, HOMA-IR), reductions in pro-inflammatory markers (TNF-α, IL-6, CRP), and improvements in common peroneal nerve conduction velocities (MNCV and SNCV) and functional outcomes (TCSS and Berg Balance Scale). The abstract states that HIIT demonstrated superior effects relative to MICT across these domains, but does not report specific numerical values, absolute or relative effect sizes, confidence intervals, p-values, or NNT/NNH for any comparison. The magnitude, clinical threshold, or minimal clinically important difference for any outcome is not described. Adverse events and safety data are not reported in the abstract.
Practice implications
This RCT suggests that structured aerobic exercise — particularly HIIT — may beneficially affect multiple pathophysiologically relevant targets in DPN, including glycemic control, neuroinflammation, large-fiber nerve conduction, and postural stability. The finding that HIIT outperformed MICT is hypothesis-generating and mechanistically plausible given HIIT's known effects on mitochondrial biogenesis, AMPK activation, and insulin sensitivity. However, the abstract does not provide quantitative effect data, statistical significance levels, confidence intervals, or clinically meaningful thresholds, making it impossible to determine whether the observed differences are statistically significant or clinically important. No primary endpoint was pre-specified in the abstract, raising concerns about outcome multiplicity and selective reporting. The population characteristics (diabetes type, neuropathy severity, baseline glycemic control, medications) are not described, limiting generalizability. Patients with advanced DPN, autonomic neuropathy, significant cardiac disease, or fall risk were presumably excluded but exclusion criteria are not stated. IMPORTANT LIMITATION: Only the abstract was available for this review; conclusions are constrained accordingly and should be interpreted with caution until the full paper is assessed. __LIMITATIONS__ Abstract-only data: No numerical results, effect sizes, CIs, or p-values are reported, making independent verification or clinical quantification impossible.,No pre-specified primary endpoint: Multiple outcomes are listed without hierarchy, increasing risk of outcome multiplicity and selective reporting bias.,Small sample size (n = 93, three arms): Per-group n is not reported; the study may be underpowered to detect differences between HIIT and MICT, or to assess safety.,HIIT protocol not described: Intensity targets, interval structure, session frequency, duration per session, and exercise modality are absent from the abstract, precluding replication.,Short follow-up (12 weeks): It is unknown whether benefits persist, regress, or progress after intervention ends; no maintenance or durability data are provided.,Population not characterized: Diabetes type, neuropathy severity grading, baseline HbA1c, concurrent medications (especially glucose-lowering drugs), and comorbidities are not reported, limiting applicability.,Blinding: Participant and assessor blinding in exercise trials is inherently difficult; degree of blinding and its adequacy are not addressed in the abstract.,Adverse events and safety: No safety data or adverse event reporting is described, which is critical for a high-intensity exercise intervention in a neuropathic diabetic population at elevated fall and cardiovascular risk.,Nerve conduction limited to the common peroneal nerve: This single-nerve assessment may not capture the full spectrum of DPN.,Funding source not reported: Cannot assess risk of industry bias.,Generalizability: Single-center study (presumed); setting not reported, limiting applicability across healthcare systems and ethnic populations. __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ promising_but_preliminary __BOTTOM_LINE__ This 12-week three-arm RCT in DPN patients suggests that HIIT may produce broader and greater improvements than MICT in glycemic control, inflammatory markers, peroneal nerve conduction, and postural balance — but the abstract provides no numerical data, p-values, or effect sizes to substantiate this claim. Given the absence of quantitative results and an unspecified primary endpoint, these findings should be considered preliminary and hypothesis-generating only. Clinicians should not modify DPN exercise rehabilitation protocols on the basis of this abstract alone; the full publication must be evaluated before assessing whether HIIT should be preferentially recommended over MICT in this population.